Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Eddie Jeremiah Receives the 2008 Hobey Baker Legend of Hockey Award

Article Image
Eddie Jeremiah     By Dartmouth
Related Links

St. Paul, Minn. The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation honored legendary coach Eddie Jeremiah with the 2008 Legends of Hockey award given at the Hobey Baker Memorial Dinner in St. Paul, Minn. Jeremiah coached Dartmouth for 29 seasons from 1937 to 1967, "Jerry" guided the Big Green to NCAA finals in 1948 and 1949 and captured Ivy League titles in 1959 and 1960.

One of Jeremiah's many crowning achievements is a still-standing, the all-time college hockey winning streak of 46 straight games between 1942 and 1946. Back before there was an NCAA national championship, Jeremiah guided the Big Green to the "mythical" national title when Dartmouth rolled up a 21-2 record in the 1941-42 season.

"I played for him in 1942 then went to war for three years," commented Whitey Campbell, "that's just what you did back in World War II. I came back from serving in India and Burma with malaria, but two days later I was back in school and played for Eddie from 1945-48. Eddie made it a smooth transition he was more of a friend than a coach."

Following the war years, a national championship was established for the top four college hockey teams and was played at the Broadmoor Arena in Colorado Springs, Colo. Dartmouth finished runner-up to Michigan in the first ever NCAA championship game in 1948, then lost to eastern rival Boston College in the 1949 title game.

Jeremiah, the son of Armenian refugees, was born in Worcester, Mass., and graduated from Dartmouth in 1930 having earned seven letters in three sports football, hockey and baseball including All America honors in hockey. He went on to play five years of pro hockey in the early 1930s, mostly in the Canadian-American Hockey League as well as stints in the NHL with the New York Americans and Boston Bruins.

Jeremiah was honored in 1951 as the very first recipient of the College Hockey Coach-of-the-Year Award. Retiring from three decades of coaching in 1967, Jeremiah died three months later from cancer. He was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 1973.

During Jeremiah's final season and after coaching his final game against him, longtime Boston College coach Snooks Kelley commented, "When they made him, they threw the mold away. He's to college hockey what Ted Williams was to baseball."

Eddie Jeremiah was honored along with this years' Hobey Baker Award winner, Michigan's Kevin Porter, at the Hobey Baker Award banquet on May 2, 2008. Current Big Green head coach Bob Gaudet along with Jeremiah's two nieces accepted the award on Jeremiah's behalf.

Bob Gaudet with Eddie Jeremiah's
nieces, Sandra Cheverie and Barbara

Gaudet with Jeremiah's nieces
and the 2008 Hobey Baker Award
winner, Kevin Porter

Past recipients include:

2008 Eddie Jeremiah, Dartmouth Coach and Class of 1930
2007 Ed Saugestad
2006 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland
2005 Murray Williamson 
2004 Ron Mason 
2003 Charles "Lefty" Smith
2002 Sid Watson
2001 Bob Peters
2000 Bob Johnson
1999 John MacInnes, Glen Sonmor
1998 Ned Harkness
1997 Lou Lamoriello
1996 Len Ceglarski
1995 John Mayasich
1994 Jack Kelley
1993 Bill Cleary
1992 John "Connie" Pleban
1991 Jack Riley, Dartmouth Class of 1944
1990 Al Renfrew
1989 Jim Fullerton
1988 Cliff "Fido" Purpur
1987 Murray Murdoch
1986 Amo Bessone
1985 Herb Gallagher
1984 Murray Armstrong
1983 John Mariucci
1982 Vic Heyliger
1981 John "Snooks" Kelly